Membership Team

The Membership Team is charged with total member care to include recruitment, retention and recognition. The committee works to encourage Northeastern New York meeting industry professionals to become members of our chapter. Upon joining, the team welcomes and orients new members, and ensures a ROI through member engagement at both the local and global level. Finally, this team is responsible to design and execute the annual membership event that recognizes members for outstanding service to the chapter and/or industry.

Interested in becoming a member of MPI’s Northeastern New York Chapter or joining the Membership Team? Contact Melissa Carter at melissa.carter@marriott.com

Committee Job Descriptions

VP of Membership
Provide direction and leadership to maintain and increase MPI membership. Work with chapter administrator to maintain a current roster of Chapter members and prospects. Act as coach, adviser and counselor to assigned Committees. Communicate MPI’s programs and incentives to both members and member prospects.

Melissa Carter, Area Director of Sales
Springhill Suites & Fairfield Inn New York LaGuardia
Direct: 518-337-6526

Melissa.Carter@marriott.com

Director of Membership
Responsible for maintaining an active and ongoing campaign to recruit and retain chapter members.  Encourage member involvement in committees.

Colleen Whitaker, Senior Sales Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Troy & The Rensselaer Banquet & Conference Center
Direct: 518-953-1992
Colleen.Whitaker@Hilton.com


Director of Leadership Development
Manages and is responsible for the tracking, support and growth of our chapter volunteers as they progress through leadership in the chapter.

Kayla Kreis, Wedding Market Manager – Sales Coordinator
Saratoga Convention and Tourism Bureau
Direct: 518-584-1531 ext. 108
kayla@discoversaratoga.org


Chair of Retention
New Member Orientation, New Member Onboarding, Member Renewals

Shannon Perry, Event Sales Manager
Lucky Strike Social
Direct: 518-556-3360
shannon.perry@luckystrikesocial.com

Chair of Recruitment
Prospect Outreach, Non-Member Attendance, Affiliate Member Program

Brian Maggiotto, Group Sales Manager
Taconic, a Kimpton Hotel
Direct: 802-367-3232
brian.maggiotto@taconichotel.com

Chair of Student Members
Atul Rai, Guest Services Coordinator
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Direct: 518-898-3436
atul_rai@live.com

Chair of Membership Events
Judy Rucinski, CMP, Meeting Planner
New York State United Teachers (NYSUT)
Office: 518-213-6000
jruscinsk@nysutmail.org

Database Coordinator / Special Projects
Janine Vellucci, Catering Sales Manager
The Williams Inn
Direct: 413-458-9371
Janine.Vellucci@williamsinn.com

Inquiries
Jennifer Gregory, MBA, National Sales Manager
Visit Buffalo Niagara
Direct: 888-228-3369, ext. 279
gregory@visitbuffaloniagara.com